District Website

Calendar ] Beavers ] Cubs ] Scouts ] Explorers ] Fellowship ] Groups ] Members area ] Join ]

Welcome to our website

Newham as a district was formed in 2002 by the amalgamation of the two districts of Newham East and Newham West which were geographically based on the boundaries of the old County Boroughs of East Ham and West Ham, and by which they were originally known as before the advent of Greater London.  Who then merged to form the London Borough of Newham.

 The Scout world in UK is divided into Scout Counties – (these bear no relationship to geographical counties). We fall within the Scout County of Greater London North East

Greater London North East, covers the London Boroughs of Newham, Redbridge, Barking and Dagenham, Hackney, Tower Hamlets, Havering and Waltham Forest. These areas are sub-divided into Districts. Newham is a single District area whereas, for instance, there are three Districts in Redbridge.

The District consists of ten scout groups and offers Scouting to young people between the ages of six and twenty-five. If you are interested in joining our district or have a child who would like to join please complete the online form


District Commissioner: 

©Newham district Scout Council 2005

Hit Counter